Steampunk Mad Hatter

You may be shocked to learn that Halloween is the Rogues’ favorite holiday. No fussing with presents, time spent at your family’s traditional religious establishment, no tree killing or egg coloring, just “fire and brimstone coming down from the skies! Rivers and seas boiling! Forty years of darkness! Earthquakes, volcanoes… The dead rising from the grave! Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together… mass hysteria!” * And more people wearing costumes than you’ll find outside a Ren Faire or Living History town. I love it!

So what are my Halloween preferences? Personally, I find it wrong to wear my ren faire costume for Halloween. Many faire people do. The same for my medieval attire (though I’m not part of SCA – it just seems wrong, not enough like a costume). My love of all things pirate makes it less wrong display my pirate self, but then again, that’s just another part of me. I want a costume for Halloween!

Steampunk White Rabbit

Last year I may have accidentally started a Halloween tradition in my front yard – a Mad Hatter Tea Party – a Steampunk one, to be exact. Somehow I think the neighborhood will remember the mounds of candy for the kids (about 50#) and the coffee for the adults. So I’m not necessarily looking for a costume; I’m up for a setting and some willing friends to help me out. What to do? “Do you play croquet?”

Steampunk Adverturess at tea.

Steampunk Flyer and Stripped Hatter at tea.

* That’s a Ghost Buster’s quote, of course. Here’s a link to my favorite ghost busting group, the League of S.T.E.A.M.!

Related posts: Mad for Steampunk – A Steampunk Mad Hatter Tea & A Steampunk Halloween (2008)

Creative Commons License All images by The Rogues of Thread (bythebodkin.wordpress.com) and licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License, Halloween 2010.
