That’s right. Be merry!

This costume was a commission from a family friend who needed a Mrs. Claus costume quickly. She and her husband are attending a Santa Claus convention next weekend. Those who play Santa take it as seriously as we historical costume lovers! She had all the fabric (a red velveteen, predominantly red and predominantly white cotton Christmas fabrics) and a pattern on hand; all I had to do was choose which of two to use for the bodice/sleeves/flounce and get to work. But how could I choose just one great fabric? I used both! Here’s what I did:

The dress: This is actually an old style “granny” nightgown. Comfy! I double ruffled the cuffs and double flounced the bottom to make use of both the Christmas fabrics. I also made bias trim for the under bust area and just above the flounce out of the predominantly red fabric to tie it all together. If you don’t already make your own bias trim, it’s worth it. I wouldn’t do it for an internal binding or something where only plain fabrics are used, but it adds a great touch when you have special fabrics.

I also made a retro-style apron. This was a bit of a surprise for her. She had an apron that would not have gone with the dress. I used the red-based fabric with the white as pockets and waist/tie, with the red velveteen as the pocket trim and lining. If she likes, I will add a bib to it later in red with the velveteen trim. Then there’s the green pom-pom fringe… The dress has green buttons. To tie the outfit together I found pom-pom yard (the pom-pom fringe was the wrong shade) and got a little carried away with the quantity, but I like the Christmas excess!

Have fun Mrs. Claus!

 
 
Creative Commons License All images by The Rogues of Thread (bythebodkin.wordpress.com) and licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License, unless specifically attributed elsewhere.
